career tips

Page: 13

The Power of Recognition to Increase Manager Success

January 25, 2016 in HR Best Practices

 

Make People Feel Appreciated The following article about the power of employee recognition appeared in our parent company’s e-newsletter, HR Insights. Most leaders receive surprisingly little development before assuming their first supervisory roles. In fact, many get no leadership training at all until they’ve been in the executive ranks for nearly a decade–reaching, on average, […]

 

Read More

Your Food & Beverage Career: Amp Up Your Marketability in 2016

January 18, 2016 in Career and Job Search Tips

 

Want a simple way to: become smarter and more interesting? strengthen your business skills? amp up your marketability? Read more books! You probably already read a ton: newspapers, food & beverage industry journals, sales reports, memos, blog posts and more. There’s a big difference, however, between reading reactively (i.e., gaining superficial information from sources that […]

 

Read More

Solutions for a Dysfunctional Team

January 11, 2016 in HR Best Practices

 

The following article appeared in our parent company’s e-newsletter, HR Insights. Strategic Human Resources Inc. addresses a question about how to get a dysfunctional team back on track. Question: I have a cross-functional team of very competent employees that used to be effective, but recently seem to have lost their way. There is occasional in-fighting […]

 

Read More

How To Network Your Way To Your Next Job

December 21, 2015 in Career and Job Search Tips

 

Kinsa CareerEdge is a complementary career resource tool we offer to job seekers. The following article, How to Network Your Way to Your Next Job, is from the Kinsa CareerEdge library. Often the phrase of “networking” can be quite intimidating, especially when you’re talking about using it to find a new job. Let me assure […]

 

Read More

7 Things To Know About Getting Referred For A Job

December 7, 2015 in Career and Job Search Tips

 

There is one thing you can do that increases your chances of being hired: getting referred for a job. Referred candidates are more likely to get hired, perform better and last longer in jobs. This is why companies, large and small, are investing in referral programs. It makes good business sense for them and for you. […]

 

Read More

Kinsa CareerEdge December Webinars

December 3, 2015 in Webinars on Kinsa CareerEdge

 

      Register today for the following free webinars on Kinsa CareerEdge. Login or create an account; then click the WEBINAR Tab to reserve your spot.     Topic: Re-THINK – Finding Your Passion, Purpose and Power Date: Thursday, December 3rd Time: 12:00 pm EST (9:00 am PST, 10:00 am MST, 11:00 am CST) Registration Link: […]

 

Read More

Are Annual Performance Appraisals Disappearing?

November 9, 2015 in HR Best Practices, News

 

The following article appeared in our parent company’s e-newsletter, HR Insights. Strategic Human Resources Inc. ponders this question and provides insight on delivering meaningful employee reviews.  In an article in The Washington Post, several major firms reported they were either eliminating or drastically revising their annual performance reviews.  While the cheers from employees and managers might be […]

 

Read More

Kinsa CareerEdge November Webinars

October 30, 2015 in Webinars on Kinsa CareerEdge

 

      Register today for the following free webinars on Kinsa CareerEdge. Login or create an account; then click the WEBINAR Tab to reserve your spot.     Topic: Determine if a Job Posting is Worth Your Time Date: Tuesday, November 3rd Time: 2:00 pm EST (11:00 am PST, 12:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm CST) Registration […]

 

Read More

Perks Attract Employees – They Don’t Keep Them

October 26, 2015 in HR Best Practices

 

The following article appeared in our parent company’s e-newsletter, HR Insights. In it, HR writer Nicole Maddy provides compelling rationale on why perks attract employees but do not work as an employee retention tool. We have moved into a new era of employee benefits. While traditional employee benefits such as healthcare, PTO, and retirement matching […]

 

Read More

Why Onboarding is Crucial to Retaining Employees

October 5, 2015 in HR Best Practices

 

Eric Magnussen, VP of Talent for a 5,200 employee organization, explains the benefits of a sound onboarding program to foster employee retention.  Imagine your first day on a new job. You arrive and no one is waiting to greet you or your HR representative is running late. When you do get started, you are asked […]

 

Read More